current entry
older entries
profile
email me
leave me a note
lex designs
hosted by diaryland
matt nathanson
howie day

well... here i am. i finally came up with something to write about.

i don't really understand why everyone is so upset and withdrawing support from dean because of his concession speech on monday.

he lost, he was pissed. why is that bad? is having someone in the oval office who is a passionate person automatically a bad thing? they say teddy roosevelt was a hothead, don't they? i don't think being angry at losing is all that horrifying. god forbid any of the presidential candidates should be anything more than a cardboard cutout who won't step on anyone's toes.

one of my roommates (and good friends) worked on the kerry campaign over break, so i have listened non-stop to what a god john kerry is. i think he's okay, but generally bland. why are people so afraid to have a personality? it pisses me off... i want dean to win. but i don't think any of them can beat shrub... *sigh* all this man on the moon shit pisses me off too. what about the kids dying in iraq? more soldiers die everyday. but we don't hear about that anymore, because the war is "over."

it's just frustrating because here at school the most vocal and active politically involved group on campus is the college republicans, with their federally funded stickers and obnoxious newspaper columnists. i swear, you can tell who they are just by looking at them. sometimes stereotypes are useful that way.

anyway, enough political ranting. in good news, i got a guitar!! well, absconded one from my sister anyway. but of course, as per usual when i am excited and interested in anything, the damn thing broke the first day i used it. the... tuner(?) for the D (i think) string was cracked, and when my friend was changing the strings, the whole damn thing broke in half. normally i don't think it would be all that big of a deal but this is a castilla guitar that's at least 25-30 years old. it was my uncle's back in the days of jefferson airplane and the dead, which makes for excellent musical karma, but also an unfortunate scarcity of parts. anyway, not to be deterred, because my new year's resolution is to actually fucking stick to things, instead of being a wishy-washy bastard, i took it to a local music shop and it'll cost, worst scenario, $40 to fix. (which is MUCH better than my prediction of, like, $200.) so, within 2-5 days, i should be rocking out the G chord, my friends. ROCKING OUT. my first, and very ambitious project after learning all the chords and how to transition is to learn to play "illusions" by matt nathanson. here are the lyrics, which absolutely rock my world and break my heart:

illusions

I believe in your strength, though I understand you've felt alone

Because when you need a friend there's no one strong

to fall back on and your past will still burden you but I'll

hold you through the pain

In the end it's just you with your memories and your scars

Fall on me if you ever forget how beautiful you are

I believe in your words and your eyes

and when you speak of your dreams

I realize that I will envy whoever you give your heart to

So in the end it s not just you with your memories and your scars

Fall on me if you ever forget how beautiful you are

And I will never let you fade away

And I want you to know that I love you

for all you are and all that you'll be.

the good news is it's only a four chord song. so maybe i can do it! of course, in my usual fashion i am already dreaming up my first set list (comprised only of covers):

1. sheryl crow- my favorite mistake

2. matt nathanson- i saw

3. michelle branch- everywhere

4. matt nathanson- illusions

that's a good opening set, i think.

only problem is i can't sing worth a damn. oh well. i can dream. yeah, we all know i am good at that.

last entry next entry

2004-01-22 7:43 p.m.
i wanna be in a band when i get to heaven


last 5
jumping ship - 2005-06-13
- - 2005-05-23
something is about to give - 2005-05-18
i'm so much older than i can take - 2005-05-10
the emperor has no clothes - 2005-04-16


About Me:

22/f. red hair, freckles, short. cautiously optimistic. in grad school and not entirely sure if that was the best decision. love music, the ocean, and sunshine. sometimes feel like i can do anything, other times am crippled by the fear that everything i know is wrong.