current entry
older entries
profile
email me
leave me a note
lex designs
hosted by diaryland
matt nathanson
howie day

"You know, when you're listening to your headphones in the school, walking to a class, and the beat picks up, and you're just like 'Yeah.'" missblackie

so yeah, i had a moment or two just like this today, provided, of course, (whoa, overusage, of, comma, alert!) by mr. nathanson. the beauty of the guitar and the cello just hits me sometimes. and now the drums! i walked outside at the exact moment they started in on "teenage wasteland." and it makes the perfect "i'm a badass" soundtrack-- bum, BUM BUM, bum, BUM BUM. try it, you'll see what i mean. and then later, during "i saw," i totally felt like if i could float, i would. listening to headphones can transport me to another world... a world i would like to spend time in more often.

i am an unproductive bum, but i listen to good music. so that's okay.

i *am* going to do radio next year. or work in a record store. or both.

that's the problem with thinking about a new school and a new apartment- i keep thinking that this might finally be my chance to be the person i really want to be.

and in the wise words of matt:

"I would feel like I was a success if I could really focus on what's important. As opposed to what's coming up�.or, what has already happened, you know? Then I'd feel like I was pretty successful. That's pretty hippy-dippy of me to say, but�. It's the truth."

yeah. i feel ya.

last entry next entry

2004-03-24 6:43 p.m.
what came first? the music or the misery?


last 5
jumping ship - 2005-06-13
- - 2005-05-23
something is about to give - 2005-05-18
i'm so much older than i can take - 2005-05-10
the emperor has no clothes - 2005-04-16


About Me:

22/f. red hair, freckles, short. cautiously optimistic. in grad school and not entirely sure if that was the best decision. love music, the ocean, and sunshine. sometimes feel like i can do anything, other times am crippled by the fear that everything i know is wrong.